Noteworthy News

  • Noteworthy News

Noteworthy News

The department congratulates our new graduates: PhD Stephen Allsop, Wilma Bainbridge, Leon Bergen, Rodrigo Garcia, Matthew Greene, Julian Jara-Ettinger, Joseph Keller, Kyle Mahowald, Nune Martiros, Praneeth Namburi, Horng-An Nieh, and Rachel Schecter SB Sylvia Atsaves, Alexandra Burgess, Bingchi Cao, Briana Chen, Jean Chow, Veronica Chu, Michaela Ennis, Catherine Garrison, Priyanka Gaur, Sophie Geoghan, Kathryn Hanling, David Jin, Eva- Lotta Kasper, Jillian Katz, Margaret Lattanzi-Silveus, Alexander Lim, Riana Lo Bu, Alice Lu, Eduardo Maury, Catherine Potter, Kara Presbrey, Abra Shen, Priyanka Shome, Patience Stevens, Maximilian Tang, Cordelia Tuan, Danil Tyulmankov, Xueyin Wen, Samantha Williams, and Ariella Yosafat.

Awards and Honors
Postdoc Rose Faghih was recognized as one of the 2016 New Faces of Engineering by DiscoverE. The award honors the work of up-and-coming engineers who are making their mark on their industry.

Guoping Feng received the BCS Award for Excellence in Graduate Mentoring.

John Gabrieli was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He also received the BCS Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, and the BCS Postdoc Award to an Outstanding Mentor.

Mehrdad Jazayeri received the BCS Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching.

Earl Miller received the Kent State University Professional Achievement Award. He was also their commencement speaker.

Pawan Sinha received the BCS Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising.

Josh Tenenbaum was selected to receive the 2016 Howard Crosby Warren Medal from the Society of Experimental Psychologists. This is the oldest award in psychology, with a distinguished history dating back to 1936.

Jean-Jacques Slotine received the 2016 Rufus Oldenburger Medal. Given by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the medal recognizes significant contributions and outstanding achievements in the field of automatic control.

Kay Tye received a Presidential Early Career Award. Coordinated by the Office of Science and Technology Policy within the Executive Office of the President, awardees are selected for their pursuit of innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology and their commitment to community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, public education, or community outreach. She also received the Harold E. Edgerton Faculty Achievement Award. The award recognizes exceptional distinction in teaching, research, and scholarship, and is given annually to one individual from among the junior members of the MIT faculty.

Shimon Ullman was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Feng Zhang received a Canada Gairdner International Award for his work on CRISPR. Created in 1959, the awards are given annually to recognize and reward the achievements of medical researchers whose work contributes significantly to the understanding of human biology and disease.

The building 46 team that entered the MIT Crossing the Charles parade competition won the DaVinci Award for Creativity and Wonder for their giant brain float.

The following people have received School of Science Spot Awards: Federico Chiavazza and Julianne Gale. Spot Awards are intended to acknowledge and demonstrate appreciation and recognition for the exceptional contributions of individuals and teams, large or small.

BCS undergraduates Veronica Chu, Michaela Ennis, Kathryn Hanling, Alice Lu, Eduardo Maury, Kara Presbrey, Abra Shen, Caitlin Tan, and Xueyin Wen were invited into the Xi Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa.

BCS graduate students Lea Hachigian, Chen Sun, Kelsey Allen, David Scott, Richard Futrell, Christopher Leppla, Michael Reed, Joshua Rule, Max Kleiman-Weiner won the Angus MacDonald Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

BCS graduate students Hannah Iaccarino and Chia-Jung Chang won the Walle Nauta Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching.

BCS graduate students Idan Blank and Wilma Bainbridge won the Walle Nauta Awards for Continuing Dedication to Teaching.