Noteworthy News

  • Noteworthy News

Noteworthy News

Earl Miller received the 2019 George Miller Prize in Cognitive Neuroscience from the Cognitive Neuroscience Society.

Emery Brown received the 2018 Dickson Prize in Science from Carnegie Mellon University.

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) has named Ted Adelson as an elected Fellow for his contributions to “image representation in computer vision.

Josh Tenenbaum was named R&D Magazine’s 2018 Innovator of the Year award for his work in cognitive science and AI.

Gloria Choi received the 2018 Peter Gruss Young Investigator Award from the Max Planck Florida Institute for Neuroscience.

BCS undergraduate Kate O’Nell’19 received a Marshall Scholarship.  

In recognition of his groundbreaking development of CRISPR-Cas9-mediated genome engineering in cells and its application for medical science, Feng Zhang received the Keio Medical Science Prize.

Mark Harnett has been named a 2018 Vallee Scholar from The Bert L and N Kuggie Vallee Foundation.

At the 2018 Advances and Perspectives in Auditory Neuroscience meeting, Richard McWalter, a postdoctoral associate in Josh McDermott’s lab, received a Best Talk award and Alex Kell, BCS graduate student in the McDermott lab received a Best Poster award.

Matheus Victor, postdoctoral fellow in Li-Huei Tsai’s laboratory, was among 15 researchers across the country who received a Hanna Gray Fellowship from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

Steven Flavell, assistant professor in the Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences, has been named the Lister Brothers Career Development Professor.

Rebecca Saxe has been named the inaugural John W. Jarve (1978) Professor in Brain and Cognitive Sciences.

Michale Fee received the 2018 McKnight Technological Innovations in Neuroscience Award for his research on “new technologies for imaging and analyzing neural state-space trajectories in freely-behaving small animals.”

Mary Potter was one of four faculty members featured in a new MIT Libraries initiative that seeks to highlight MIT’s women faculty by acquiring, preserving, and making accessible their personal archives to highlight the accomplishments and challenges faced by women in academia.

Ed Boyden and Feng Zhang were named Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) investigators in recognition of their work recognizing, developing, and sharing robust tools with broad utility that have revolutionized the life sciences.

Joel Blanchard, postdoctoral fellow in Li-Huei Tsai’s laboratory received the Glenn Foundation for Medical Research Postdoctoral Fellowship in Aging Research.

Mark Bear received the 2018 Beckman-Argyros Vision Research Award from The Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation.