Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Justice

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Justice

Statement of Support

The MIT Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences is against racism and bias, individual or systemic. We expect all members of our community to welcome each other regardless of race, culture, ethnicity, socioeconomic background, sexual preference, gender identity, age, or disability. We strive to implement policies, programs, and actions that will respect, value, and support each person. We desire a community that fosters success in research, teaching, learning, and personal growth.

We recognize that this is a vision, not yet a reality and that we have played a role in maintaining systems which perpetuate racism and inequity. Our commitment is to put these words into sustained action—by vigorously developing, advocating for, and funding this vision, and sharing data on our progress as openly as possible. 

Key Contact

Farrah Belizaire, Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Justice (DEIJ) Program Officer

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Justice Committee

Click individual names for that person's contact information. The entire committee can be reached at bcs-diversity@mit.edu.

Laura Schulz, faculty (Committee Chair)
Farrah Belizaire, DEIJ Program Officer
Emery Brown, faculty
Lupe Cruz, graduate student
Tristan Davies, staff
Héctor de Jesús Cortés, postdoc
Ila Fiete, faculty
Steven Flavell, faculty
John Gabrieli, faculty
Ted Gibson, faculty
Ann Graybiel, faculty
Myriam Heiman, faculty
Mary Roderick, staff
Mandana Sassanfar, staff
Pawan Sinha, faculty
Kate White, staff

Outreach and Programs

Mandana Sassanfar, Ph.D., spearheads departmental outreach efforts to bring in diverse and under-represented communities into the MIT community for BCS, the Center for Brains, Minds, and Machines, and the Department of Biology. Major outreach programs include: