Department Head
Jim DiCarlo

Associate Department Head of Education
Michale Fee

Associate Department Head & Graduate Officer
Rebecca Saxe

Undergraduate Officer
Laura Schulz

Postdoctoral Officer
Mark Bear

Administrative Officer
Kate White

Space Officer
Nancy Kanwisher

Diversity Officer
Pawan Sinha

BCS Council

The Council sets priorities and plans long-term strategies for the department, and reflects the voice of the BCS faculty to guide decision-making.

Jim DiCarlo (Chair)
Emery Brown (IMES, IDSS)
Bob Desimone (MIBR)
Evelina Fedorenko (Junior Faculty Representative)
Michale Fee (Systems Area Representative)
Michael Halassa (Junior Faculty Representative)
Troy Littleton (Cellular / Molecular Area Representative)
Tomaso Poggio (CBMM)
Rebecca Saxe (Cognitive Area Representative)
Mriganka Sur (SCSB)
Josh Tenenbaum (Computation Area Representative)
Li-Huei Tsai (PILM)
Kate White (Staff)


BCS Education Committee

The Education Committee creates, reviews and approves curricula, classes, qualifying exams, and undergraduate and graduate degree requirements.

Michale Fee (chair)
Jim DiCarlo
Guoping Feng
Ted Gibson
Myriam Heiman
Rebecca Saxe
Laura Schulz
Matt Wilson
Sierra Vallin (Academic Administrator)

Student representatives

Victoria Beja-Glasser
Michael Happ
Xiangyu Zhang

BCS Graduate Student Affairs Committee

The Graduate Student Affairs oversees the graduate program, including recruitment, admissions, mentorship, and student progress through the qualifying exams.

Rebecca Saxe (Chair)
Steve Flavell (Website)
Mark Harnett (Rotations Coordinator)
Roger Levy (First year student advisor, Quals and Committees)
Sierra Vallin (Staff)


BCS Graduate Admissions Committee

Graduate Admissions oversees the admissions cycle

Matt Wilson (chair)
Michale Fee
Ila Fiete
Ted Gibson
Josh McDermott
Elly Nedivi
Mandana Sassanfar
Julianne Omerod (Staff)

BCS Seminar Committee

The Seminar Committee assesses current BCS colloquia series and oversees improvements. Reviews and approves proposals for new series or speakers.

Alan Jasanoff (Chair)
Polina Anikeeva
Gloria Choi (PILM Rep)
Evelina Fedorenko (BCS Rep)
Mehrdad Jazayeri (MIBR Rep)
Earl Miller
Drazen Prelec
TBD (Staff)
Hector De Jesus-Cortes (Postdoctoral Fellow Representative)
Ni Ji (Postdoctoral Fellow Representative)
Chen Sun (Graduate Student Representative)

BCS Diversity Committee

The overarching charge of the BCS Diversity Committee is to enhance the richness of our department’s composition.  We seek to attract the brightest scientists from all walks of life, and to foster an inclusive, fair and cordial culture where every individual, irrespective of his/her background, has a real chance to excel. A specific charge of the BCS Diversity Committee is to review current practices and identify actionable opportunities for improvement.

Pawan Sinha, faculty (Diversity Officer)
Emery Brown, faculty
Lupe Cruz, graduate student
Tristan Davies, staff
Hector de Jesus Cortes, postdoc
Ila Fiete, faculty
Steven Flavell, faculty
John Gabrieli, faculty
Ted Gibson, faculty
Ann Graybiel, faculty
Myriam Heiman, faculty
Mary Roderick, staff
Mandana Sassanfar, staff
Kate White, staff

BCS Junior Faculty Mentoring Committee

The charge of the BCS Junior Faculty Mentoring Committee is to assess the needs of junior faculty, remcommend strategies to ensure effecitve mentoprship, and help junior faculty obtain effective mentorship. This Committee is not an evaluation body, but a venue in which junior faculty can get advice without concern that they are being judged.

Nancy Kanwisher (chair)
Mark Bear
​Elly Nedivi
Kate White (Staff) 

BCS Community Conveners

The Community Conveners are members of specific BCS sub-communities who assess needs, organize events, and represent their communities in decision-making processes.

Hector De Jesus-Cortes

Grad students
Daniel Estandian
Meg McCue

Nahom Marie
Leigh-Ana Rossitto

Kate White

BCS Computational Infrastructure Committee

This committee has been formed to address the growing computational needs of the department.

Satra Gosh (chair)
Ila Fiete
Josh McDermott
Jim DiCarlo
Vikash Mansinghka
Shaohao Chen
Sasha Rakhlin
Feng Zhang
Kate White (Staff)